Conductor Facts: Size Nomenclature

Download PDF

Plusieurs désignations permettent dedécrire la taille d’un conducteur dans l’industrie du fil et du câble. La plus communément utilisée aux Etats Unis est l’American Wire Gauge (AWG). Les désignations métriques suivent la plupart du temps une technique établissant le diamètre (mm), la section (mm²), ou le nombre de brins et le diamètre des brins. D’autres systèmes de jauges existent encore tels que the British Wire Gage (BWG), the Standard (or Imperial) Wire Gage (SWG), etc.

Les constructions sous forme de toron varient en taille, en nombre et en configuration des différents brins. Tous les systèmes de désignation de torons indiquent la section totale du conducteur. La section du métal détermine la résistance électrique et la capacité à transmettre le courant qu’a le conducteur, données importantes pour sélectionner la taille correcte pour une application spécifique.

L’American Wire Gauge (AWG), anciennement nommée the Brown & Sharpe (B&S) Gage, est la désignation standard pour les tailles de fils en cuivre aux Etats Unis. Elle fut concue à l’origine pour standardiser le tréfilage du fil ainsi que les tailles de brins monofils en une Progression mathématique. L’AWG est basée sur deux diamètres de référence, 0.4600 inches (4/0 AWG) et 0.0050 inches (36 AWG). Toutes les jauges sont fonction les unes des autres en une Progression mathématique telle que chaque jauge puisse être dérivée de toute autre jauge connue (voir l’ASTM B 258 pour des détails ´plus spécifiques). Une augmentation d’une jauge AWG signifie une réduction de 20,7% de la section et une augmentation de 26,1% en longueur. Un saut de 3 jauges AWG double ou divise par deux la section et un saut de 6 jauges AWG double ou divise par deux le diamètre. Pour les jauges plus petites que 36 AWG, les diamètres sont extrapolés en utilisant les mêmes fonctions. Les jauges AWG sont aussi utilisées pour définir la taille des conducteurs toronnés.

le saviez-vous ? 
Pour la plupart des jauges de torons…
  • > Le toronnage 7 brins réduit la jauge AWG de 8 numéros , par ex. 7/38 est 30 AWG.
  • > Le toronnage 12 brins réduit la jauge AWG de 12 numéros, par ex. 12/38 est 26 AWG.
  • > Le toronnage 37 brins réduit la jauge AWG de 16 numéros, par ex. 37/26 est 10 AWG.

les jauges plus grandes que 4/0 suivent une Notation “MCM” dans laquelle un MCM est égal à 1000 circular mils. MCM traduit la section et est plus communément utilisé pour les grands conducteurs toronnés. Les monobrins de grandes jauges sont généralement des « tordons » et sont désignés par leur diamètre.
 

Monobrins AWG

les jauges de monobrins sont habituellement désignées par leur jauge AWG ou par leur diamètre en pouces.

Tailles toronnées AWG

Les désignations AWG des constructions toronnées sont habituellement référées à laur jauge AWG ou leur détails de toronnage tels que :

  • 40 AWG
  • 7 / 48 (7 brins de 48 AWG équivalents à 40 AWG globalement)
  • 22 AWG
  • 7 / 30 (7 brins de 30 AWG équivalents à 22 AWG globalement)

La construction de conducteurs toronnés peut varier en fonction des applications et des propriétés requises. Les équivalents de contructions toronnées AWG doivent avoir la même section, plus grande ou égale à l’équivalent de 98% de la section du brin AWG correspondant (ASTM B 8). Aisi, les même tailles AWG toronnées ont la même Résistance électrique et la même masse. Par exemple, la comparaison d’équivalents de 20 AWG :

Notes: Data from ASTM B 174, B 258 and B 286.
Construction Section nominale
20 AWG – Solid (0.0320 in) 1020 cmil (0.000804 in2)
20 AWG – 7 / 28 (7 / 0.0126 in) 1111 cmil (0.000873 in2)
20 AWG – 10 / 30 (10 / 0.0100 in) 1000 cmil (0.000785 in2)
20 AWG – 16 / 32 (16 / 0.0080 in) 1024 cmil (0.000804 in2)
20 AWG – 19 / 32 (19 / 0.0080 in) 1216 cmil (0.000955 in2)
20 AWG – 26 / 34 (26 / 0.0063 in) 1032 cmil (0.000810 in2)
20 AWG – 41 / 36 (41 / 0.0050 in) 1025 cmil (0.000805 in2)
20 AWG – 65 / 38 (65 / 0.0040 in) 1040 cmil (0.000817 in2)
20 AWG – 104 / 40 (104 / 0.00314 in) 1025 cmil (0.000785 in2)

Brin métrique

Les désignations métriques de brins simples utilisent généralement les diamètres en millimètres. Les diamètres métriques Standards pour les monobrins sont approximativement égaux aux diamètres AWG, mais les deux progressions diffÈrent légèrement. Voici des exemples de similarités :

métriques standardisés et tailles AWG comparables
Métrique (mm) 0.100 0.112 0.125 0.140 0.160 0.180 0.200
(in) 0.00394 0.00441 0.00492 0.00551 0.0063 0.00709 0.00787
AWG 38 37 36 35 34 33 32
(in) 0.00397 0.00445 0.00500 0.00561 0.00630 0.00708 0.00795

Tailles de torons métriques

Les désignations métriques pour les constructions toronnées font généralement référence à la section du conducteur ou à ses détails de toronnage tels que :

  • 1 mm2
  • 19 / 0.25 mm 
  • 5 mm2
  • 37 / 0.40 mm

De nombreuses constructions toronnées métriques sont approximativement égales aux tailles AWG, mais leur section peut légèrement différer en raison de l’usage de brins aux dimensions métriques.

Cordes métriques

Les Cordes métriques sont généralement designées par leur section (mm2). De façon similaire aux monobrins et torons réguliers, de nombreuses constructions ont leur correspondant AWG, cependant des différences de configuration et de propriétés finales de la corde peuvent exister.

  • 9 mm2
  • équivalent de 8 AWG
  • 107 mm2
  • équivalent de 4/0 AWG

Click Here for information about COVID-19 Essential Business Justification.

Conductor Facts: Size Nomenclature

Download PDF

There are several designations used to describe conductor size in the wire and cable industry. The most common method used in the U.S. is the American Wire Gauge (AWG). Metric designations commonly follow a technique that states the diameter (mm), the total cross sectional area (mm2) or the number of strands and strand diameter. Other gauge systems also exist such as the British Wire Gage (BWG), the Standard (or Imperial) Wire Gage (SWG), etc.

Stranded constructions vary in the size, number and configuration of the individual strands. All stranded designation systems relate to the total cross-sectional area of the conductor. The cross-sectional area of metal determines the electrical resistance and current carrying capacity of the conductor and is important for the proper size selection for a specific application.

The American Wire Gauge (AWG), previously known as the Brown & Sharpe (B&S) Gage, is the standard designation for copper wire sizes in the United States. It was originally designed to standardize wire drawing and solid wire sizes in a mathematical progression. AWG is based on two reference diameters, 0.4600 inches (4/0 AWG) and 0.0050 inches (36 AWG). All gauge sizes are related to each other in a mathematical progression such that each size can be derived from any known AWG size and diameter (refer to ASTM B 258 for specific details). An increase of one AWG number signifies a 20.7% reduction in cross-sectional area and a 26.1% increase in length. A 3 AWG change doubles or halves the cross-sectional area and a 6 AWG change doubles or halves the diameter. For sizes smaller than 36 AWG, diameters are extrapolated using the same relationship. AWG sizes are also used to describe the size of a stranded conductor.

Did You Know? 
For most stranded sizes…
  • > Stranding of 7 strands “reduces” the AWG number by 8. e.g. 7/38 is 30 AWG.
  • > Stranding of 19 strands “reduces” the AWG number by 12. e.g. 19/38 is 26 AWG.
  • > Stranding of 37 strands “reduces” the AWG number by 16. e.g. 37/26 is 10 AWG.

Sizes larger than 4/0 follow a “MCM” notation in which one MCM equals 1000 circular mils. MCM translates to cross-sectional area, and is more commonly used for large stranded conductor. Solid conductors in larger sizes are usually referred to as “rod” and designated by their diameters.
 

AWG Single End

The size of a single strand, commonly referred to as “single end”, is most often designated by its AWG size or by its diameter in inches.

AWG Stranded Sizes

AWG designations for stranded constructions usually refer to their AWG size or its stranding detail such as:

  • 40 AWG
  • 7 / 48 (7 strands of 48 AWG equivalent to 40 AWG overall)
  • 22 AWG
  • 7 / 30 (7 strands of 30 AWG equivalent to 22 AWG overall)

The construction of stranded conductors can vary depending on the application and properties required. Equivalent stranded AWG constructions must have similar cross-sectional areas, greater than or equal to 98% of the area of the nominal solid AWG size (ASTM B 8). Hence, similar stranded AWG sizes will also have similar electrical resistance and weight. For example a comparison of equivalent 20 AWG solid and representative 20 AWG stranded constructions:

Notes: Data from ASTM B 174, B 258 and B 286.
Construction Nominal Cross-Sectional Area
20 AWG – Solid (0.0320 in) 1020 cmil (0.000804 in2)
20 AWG – 7 / 28 (7 / 0.0126 in) 1111 cmil (0.000873 in2)
20 AWG – 10 / 30 (10 / 0.0100 in) 1000 cmil (0.000785 in2)
20 AWG – 16 / 32 (16 / 0.0080 in) 1024 cmil (0.000804 in2)
20 AWG – 19 / 32 (19 / 0.0080 in) 1216 cmil (0.000955 in2)
20 AWG – 26 / 34 (26 / 0.0063 in) 1032 cmil (0.000810 in2)
20 AWG – 41 / 36 (41 / 0.0050 in) 1025 cmil (0.000805 in2)
20 AWG – 65 / 38 (65 / 0.0040 in) 1040 cmil (0.000817 in2)
20 AWG – 104 / 40 (104 / 0.00314 in) 1025 cmil (0.000785 in2)

Metric Single End

Metric designations for single end commonly use millimeter diameters. The standard metric diameters for single end approximate the AWG diameters, but the two progressions are slightly different. The following is an example of the similarities:

Standard Metric and Comparable AWG Sizes
Metric (mm) 0.100 0.112 0.125 0.140 0.160 0.180 0.200
(in) 0.00394 0.00441 0.00492 0.00551 0.0063 0.00709 0.00787
AWG 38 37 36 35 34 33 32
(in) 0.00397 0.00445 0.00500 0.00561 0.00630 0.00708 0.00795

Metric Stranded Sizes

Metric designations for stranded constructions usually refer to the cross-sectional area of the conductor or its stranding detail such as:

  • 1 mm2
  • 19 / 0.25 mm 
  • 5 mm2
  • 37 / 0.40 mm

Many metric stranded constructions approximate the AWG sizes, but their cross-sectional area may differ slightly due to the use of standard metric single end diameters.

Metric Ropes

Metric ropes are usually designated by their cross-sectional area (mm2). As with solid and regular stranded conductor, many constructions have a correlation with AWG, however, there can be differences in configuration and the final properties of the rope.

  • 9 mm2
  • equivalent to an 8 AWG
  • 107 mm2
  • equivalent to an 4/0 AWG

Click Here for information about COVID-19 Essential Business Justification.