Wire Facts: Edges and Corners

Download PDF

Le fil carré, rectangulaire ou plat peut être produit dans une grande variété de coins standards. De même le fil peut être produit avec des coins spéciaux. Les dimensions de coins sont généralement définies par un rayon ou un rayon de courbure. La mesure effective de ce paramètre spécifié dépend de l’angle et de la forme finale du fil. (ASTM B250)

Rayon de coin

Le rayon d’un coin est définit comme toute configuration entre un rayon et un chanfrein. La mesure du rayon de coin correspond à la distance du Point de rupture de la courbure d’une face jusqu’à l’extension sur l’autre face. Le niveau de précision établi pour la mesure du rayon de coin adopte un arrondi aux .0005″ les plus proches(0,0127 mm).

Rayon de bordure 

Un rayon de bordure est un côté arrondi selon un rayon de courbure spécifié obtenu par laminage d’un côté du fil. Le rayon de bordure peut être obtenu sur tout côté du fil par laminage.  

Arrondi naturel

Un arrondi naturel est formé lorsqu’un fil plat est laminé dans un laminoir. Le côté naturellement arrondi ne suit pas un rayon d’arc parfait mais peut être évalué approximativement par un rayon plus grand que la moitié de l’épaisseur du fil.

Côté carré

Un côté est dit côté carré lorsque le fil a été laminé à plat afin d’être carré dans l’épaisseur du matériau.Un fil plat à côté carré peut avoir des dimensions spécifiées pour le rayon du coin. Le fil plat à côté carré dispose généralement de tolérances plus fines dans la largeur que le rayon naturel pris en comparaison.

Click Here for information about COVID-19 Essential Business Justification.

Wire Facts: Edges and Corners

Download PDF

Square, rectangular or flat wire can be produced with a variety of standard edge conditions. Equally, wire can be produced with special edge conditions. The edge conditions are usually defined as a “radius” or a “radius of curvature.” The actual measurement of this specified parameter is dependent on the edge and finish wire shape. (ASTM B250.)

Corner Radius

A corner radius is defined as any configuration between a radius and chamfer. The measurement of a corner radius is the distance from the blend point on one surface to the extension of the other surface. The established level of corner radius measurement accuracy requires that the measured value be rounded to the nearest .0005″ (.0127 mm).

Crown Edge Radius

A crown radius is a round edge of a specified radius of curvature rolled into the edge of the wire. The crown radius can be rolled into any or all sides of the wire.  

Natural Rounded Edge

A naturally-rounded edge is formed when wire is rolled flat in a rolling mill. The natural rounded edge is not a perfect arc radius but can be approximated by a radius which is greater than half the thickness of the wire.

Square Edge

A square edge is where the edge of the wire has been rolled flat to be square to the width of the material. Squared-edge flat wire will have a corner radius dimension that can be specified. Squared-edge flat wire generally accords tighter tolerances on the width dimension as compared
to a natural edge.

Click Here for information about COVID-19 Essential Business Justification.